For the love of

I was wondering…

How is it possible to make art only for yourself?

I mean…if you only make things for yourself it is better to have a cottage on another planet, where nobody can find you, together with that what you are making. I think that people always make their art for somebody else. May it be for one person, a group of people or the whole world for that matter. Or that you make it because you have been inspired by someone. someone who touched you in a such a way that it gave you power to create.

And then I thought…How can I show this.

How can I show that people make things for others and not just for themselves.

I found the following in my tiny room with books. . .

.

Written words in books at the beginning or at the end of a story  . . .

.

.

.

p.s.If you hold your mouse on the image,and everything works well,
you will see a translation if necessary

boek9boek7boek8boek1boek6
boek5
boek2boek3

.

8 Replies to “For the love of”

    1. Thanks.
      As my posts are most of the time about illustrations and photography I thought;
      Sometimes you have to show a bit more of other thoughts that come from the instinct.
      Glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

  1. Wonderful post and idea. When I start making a new project I always have to be inspired by something or someone, a special moment in life, a deep feeling, a person … but I still think that the most important thing is my family. They give me the power to go on, to believe in myself … maybe that is why my way of expressing my art has such a personal touch.
    Thank you, Belinda, for sharing this post. It was both interesting as well as good material of thought regarding these aspects.

    Have a nice week,
    Anette

    Like

    1. Anette what a wonderfull reply! I so appreciate it coming from you. As I said in an earlier comment: it’s nice to also show other things that come up in my mind. Have yourself a wonderfull week to! kind thoughts 🙂

      Like

    1. Yeah you know Luddy, I thought so to…I have been looking for other books and thinking about taking new photographs in a different light.
      The thing is…I am looking for a gallery who is willing to show my work here in Amsterdam.It’s really hard…but the more things I make,and also this post, I feel more confident about it.That means more stronger to go out there and promote little me 😉 thanks for the comment 🙂

      Like

  2. I agree…if we say “I only do art for myself” or “I only write for myself”, we are really fooling ourselves…everything we do is a way to reach out to somebody…I don’t care how aloof one thinks they are, we create because it is just another way to connect with other souls and it’s the reason why we exist.

    Like

Comments are closed.