B-Side

As I have been working a lot with lines lately and like the fact they can be placed above and beneath each other, like for instance in my other illustrations “Building” & “The Straw”, I wanted/decided to continue doing this. So after breakfast this Sunday morning, sitting at my drawing table, I suddenly grabbed an old music cassette. Why? Because, I was thinking about the A-side and the B-side, and what it excually means. The good stuff on the A-side, like on a record, and the less good stuff on the other side, the B-side. I thought. . .  I want to get rid of  ‘bad’ stuff, and focus on the good stuff and how can I put this on paper.

As people also call me Bee instead of my full first name, and I love to play with words in a symbolic way, something started to grow in my tiny mind. Getting rid of the B-SIDE, meaning the less good stuff. The result below

 .

 .

B-SIDE

Fineliner on 300 gram paper size50x65cm

.

belindaclaushuis-06102013

.
.
.
Inspiration
An artist I know once told me this story -> He had a baby daughter at the time, and loved listening to music.
One day, while working on one of his paintings and having his daughter in the living room playing with her toys he 
suddenly thought; Hey, it’s mighty quiet. You know, if you have kids, sometimes, when it’s to silent for some time 
that means Ok, check up time ;) So he decided to take a look. When he entered the room, he saw his two-year-old 
sitting in the centre of the space. She had surrounded herself with the complete music cassette collection daddy 
had collected throughout all the years. And I mean, all his music casettes! 
She, one by one, had pulled out the audio strips of each one of them. When he looked at her standing in the doorway 
she looked at him with a huge smile because she probably thought; 
Hey look daddy, I found great new toys to play with!
This image came back to me this morning… 
Oh-my-head-so-full-of pfff
.
.
.
A music casette I bought in HongKong

9 Replies to “B-Side”

  1. That’s a sad story… probably the reason why we see so many little children in cages… playpens I think they’re called.

    Like

    1. Shimon…on the one hand it is sad. Sad for the father who had lost all that precious sound. But…on the other hand I can also see the humor in this. The child in the middle of a pile of casettes. The good thing is that it has made me draw about it,and that makes me feel good 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.