In his own shadow

belindaclaushuis3042

Trying to find the technique that fits you best is a challenge.

When I shot this one, I came very close to a sort of alarm bell. In this one I obviously shot two images. Ok. Looking at the result I realized that within the movement you could also create a new form. In the first shot, the man is looking at the sea. In the second one I ask for his attention, which resulted in him turning his head. By pulling the camera a bit backwards while taking the second shot, the subject becomes a bit smaller. The result is that he is now captured in his own ‘shadow’ (the first shot) which creates a sort of glow around him.

It is a lot of stuff to do and think about all at once while at the same time you are trying to direct a situation in some way. You also have to measure the right lightning and find the right composition. Plus you have to stay focussed because the moment you want or would like, can be gone in an instant. Not forgetting that when your subject is moving you need to move to. And it’s also hot, damn hot!

Being critical about your results is of the upmost importance. The questions why, what, how, the details, the composition and so on, really is necessary for if you want to grow. It would have been better in this case, if the guy and the tiny red object (L) had not been framed, and taken with the sun in my back. In the end, working with direct or indirect sunlight are two completely different worlds. Oh well, It is one big exploration, Yes it is!

About the TOP image: The man with the hat, father of three girls, is born on the island Comoros in the Mozambique channel. He left it many years ago by taking a boat to Madagascar hoping for a better life. He was a fisherman then, but today his body is not strong enough anymore to do that kind of heavy work. The guy on the left is my Malagasy translator who helped me with finding the mother of Tsiry.

.

~Other fisherman~

BCDSC_2994

.

~Tsiry and the Guy from the Comoros~

DSC_2999 copy

.
.

13 thoughts on “In his own shadow

  1. …oopps, I discovered something today… (okay, in my defence I have to say that I’m not that long in the ‘photo business’)… …my camera has this function for double exposure. – And I thought it’s all done by PS with multilayers. Only when you mention the difficulties with the the right lightning I started wondering. Okay, now I got it.

    And I tried a few shots.. ..but it’s not as easy as it seems, which makes me like your capture even more. But I will continue and try to learn.

    Like

    1. Markus, so kind and honest. You know, I do not know all the tricks but I keep on practicing and explore. One thing I do know is that a lot of good things in photography are born when a mistake is made. It’s when you think, hey, but this is excually good, but how did I do that?! or, you forgot to think about a back light and when you see the foto you realize hey, I should not have used that light at all. That’s the fun also included. Double exposure is tricky and it forces you in a way to think about what is going on inside of the machine (best way in manuel not auto.).
      I can go on and on about this topic…
      Nice response
      Cheers

      Like

  2. I somehow feel I simply don’t have the brains to handle something so complicated…so many factors to be kept in mind…and executed in split second! Thanks for the wonderful explanation!

    Like

  3. A brilliant shot catching a moment or two in one and what fun it is to explore, most of the time, even if we are own worst critics!

    Like

  4. You’re so right about finding one’s own technique! It’s so easy to overthink everything and get frustrated, or to get distracted by the work we see others doing. But still, as complex as a shot might be to set up and capture, over time I find I get used to all the “extra” work, and so it becomes less complex and more natural. Eventually, you won’t have to think about pulling out for the second exposure, you’ll just automatically do it.

    Your double exposure is terrific — it has such a warm, easy feeling to it!

    Like

Comments are closed.