it would have been nice if…

Being critical about your work is something I started to talk about in an earlier post. I have decided to give you some more food for thought on this topic by showing you some examples on how I see things.

.

For example, If I had turned a bit more to the Left, I would have had the three girls in the middle of the sand, and more in the centre of the frame.

BCBLOG700DSC_3842
And, the one here below, the original one, could have been a bit better, if I just had focussed more carefully…

BLOG-FIRSTDSC_3837

Instead, I was caught up in the game while I schould have thought about giving the side bars of the goal pit (Left and Right) some more room and have the top bar 100% horizontal. Something like the one here below in which I rotaded the image a bit and cropped it.

BCDSC_3837 copy

.

And then there is this ongoing battle; Should I use my Hasselblad, and have it in a square frame (and on a slide,Yes!), or should I take the shot with the Nikon, like I obviously did with this one.

BLOGBOYDSC_3855

.

And that also counts for this one to. (the lines: three big palm trees and three boys in the same pose).

BLOGDSC_3840

In which you can see the diffence by showing you the original digital one, here below.

BLOGDSC_3840

.

And then we have this one. Where did his left foot go? And as the straws are the thing I saw first, I did not react quick enough and clicked, but forgot the focus ( A very bad move!)

BLOGDSC_3866

Ok, here is the foot and because of al those wonderfull shadows, I think; black and white would have been better instead of color, so I am showing you the black and white one in this case…

BLOGDSC_3865

(Or, if I would have turned the camera a bit more to the Right, and follow the shadow lines…)

.

And talking about shadows…I was atrackted to the hair but now I think…that hand is far more interesting. That should have been the subject! Again, not fully concentrated

BCDSC_3841

For in this one below, I did see the hand. And it’s three lightened finger tips…together with the strong body.

blogDSC_3847

.

And in this one…

Where did the index finger go?…I guess “Love is not for the ‘square’ minded!”

BLOGDSC_3869

.

BLOGDSC_3862

But for the ones who have a bright and happy view while looking into the horizon.

Or… in this case;

Enjoy happyness by sharing small things together.

.

thinkinrainbows

.

.

Cheers

32 thoughts on “it would have been nice if…

  1. I can totally relate to all of this and I think it is part of the learning curve. The more pictures you take, the more likely you are automatically likely to take thins into account. The other thing I would say is that sometimes we just don’t have time to set the camera right as the shot is only there for a couple of seconds, luck can play a part, don’t be too hard on yourself. Happy Weekend. MM 🍀

    Like

    1. Hi Bill, I do not know if I follow you well on this one… Being Dutch the term shoot in bursts…what does that mean?
      In the end, I think it is just perfect when everybody does his or her own thing. It’s all about enjoying it in your own way 😉
      Kind regards to you
      B.

      Like

      1. My cameras allow for shooting between 3 and 9 frames per second. When I’m photographing people, I’ll often set it for 3 per second to capture within the frame multiple compositions.

        Like

  2. The cropping tool is our best friend! 🙂 We do have to be our own toughest critics.

    I can see what you mean with the woman with the braids. It’s an interesting shot as it is, with the pattern of her braids sort of repeating in her dress, but emphasis on the hand would have been a different type of picture.

    Like

    1. Hi Luddy!
      Yess, then it would have been a completely different type of picture.
      I must tell you this though: The cropping tool is Not My best friend for I hardly ever use it. (only in my collages).
      And in this post I use that tool to explain the focus or show a different kind of view on a composition.
      Thanks for your comment Luddy. It is appreciated!
      Kind regards

      Like

  3. But it’s not as though everyone is hanging around, posing and waiting for the perfect shot to be taken . . . which is why we flog ourselves with the fun of trying to catch what takes our focus in the disappearing moments. A great post, in every way!

    Like

Comments are closed.