Frida Kahlo pop-up book

The thing is, I just cannot het enough of her. As I followed some art classes this year here in Haarlem, (and I know now, that I wil never be a full time painter for sure!) But… The subject at one point was; make a book, a comic book excually. So I made one, but I could not resist making another using a white permanent marker on see-through and black paper and having Frida as my subject.

FDSCN9970

FDSCN9954

FDSCN9968

FDSCN9955

FDSCN9959

FDSCN9957

FDSCN9958 copy

FDSCN9960

FDSCN9961

FDSCN9962

FDSCN9963

FDSCN9965 copy

FDSCN9966FDSCN9967

 

28 Replies to “Frida Kahlo pop-up book”

  1. I really like the use of the transparency that helps expose the mysterious things you find about her and her life. Really great!

    Like

    1. Hi Carol, Thanks! I was happy myself to when I thought about transparant paper 😉 the symbolic thought to that…Love your work lady! keep it coming
      kind regards
      p.s. your fourlegged plus tail friends look happy, really cute.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That is so cool and impressive ~ a very creative and impressive piece of art that is even more impressive as a book and a special gift/art.

    Like

  3. very cool, I have written a poem about Frida Kahlo at my blog, I admire her very much.

    Like

  4. I found a letter she wrote to Diego leaving him right before one of her surgeries that made me love her even more last month. That work is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheryl! Thanks so much. I had so much joy making the thing 😉 thnx for ketting me know! ( loved those trees in your post 😀

      Like

      1. You did a wonderful job. It is so unique and I can feel the love that went into it. You are a true artist. A lot of people can turn out pretty things over and over. But making one of a kind pieces like this is a talent.
        Yes, glad you liked the trees. They are so magnificent.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.